Facebook groups are fantastic spaces where you can share and interact with like-minded users around a whole host of topics.
From sharing the view out of your bedroom window to discovering the latest plant-based recipe to impress your vegan friends, there is a Facebook group for it.
While joining these niche communities on the Facebook platform can help you to build new relationships and discover content that you may never have seen before, they can become overwhelming.
If you are no longer interested in the topic of a group, do not agree with what is being posted, or are seeing too much content from a group on your timeline, it may be time to leave. But, how?
We will walk you through the process of leaving a Facebook group step-by-step, so you can say goodbye to all of those annoying notifications.
You may have made your mind up, you want to leave a Facebook group and that is that. However, it is important to make these considerations before you take any action:
No, nobody will be notified if you leave a group, not the admins, nor the other members. This is to protect your privacy and safety on Facebook. It works in the same way as unfriending someone. Nobody will ever find out unless you tell them of course.
If Facebook group notifications are driving you crazy, it is possible to stop them without completely leaving the group.
To stop or limit the notifications sent by a group follow these instructions, they apply to both desktop and mobile device formats;
Depending on the privacy settings applied by the admins, it is possible that once you leave the group, you will lose any access to posts and comments that you have previously posted if the group is set to ’private’.
If the privacy settings are set as ‘public’ you may still receive notifications relating to any posts or comments made on your posts within the group. However, you should still be able to edit or remove these posts.
If you decide to leave a Facebook group but then re-join it as a member, the admins and members will usually be notified. Unfortunately, there is no way of re-entering under the radar.
These instructions for leaving a Facebook group on a desktop device should work on any computer or laptop regardless of the browser used.
1 – First, ensure that you are logged into Facebook. Then select ‘Groups’ from the left-hand menu.
Tip: If you know it, you can also type the group’s name into the search bar in the top left-hand corner. This will take you straight to the group in question.
2 – Next, locate the groups you are a member of in the left-hand menu. Click on the group in question and wait for the group to load.
3 – You should now be able to see the group settings, locate the ‘joined’ dropdown menu, open it and click ‘leave the group’
4 – You’ll receive a pop-up notification asking you to confirm your desire to leave the group. Click ‘leave group’ to leave permanently.
5 – You have now left the group and will no longer receive any notifications.
Leaving a Facebook group on a mobile device follows a very similar process and can be achieved by following these steps.
1 – Log into Facebook and click the menu icon in the bottom right corner of your screen.
Tip: Alternatively, you can use the search function at the top of the screen if you know the name of the group.
2 – Scroll down and click on the ‘Groups’ option.
3 – Use the menu at the top of the screen to select ‘Your Groups’ and scroll down to locate and select the group in question.
4 – Next, locate the ‘joined’ dropdown menu at the top of the group page.
5 – Open the menu and select ‘leave page’
6 – Finalise your decision to exit the group by clicking ‘leave group’.
7 – You have now left the Facebook group permanently and will not receive any future notifications.